NoWAL is funded by subscriptions which are reviewed and adjusted by the Treasurer, on behalf of the Operations Group, on an annual basis. The subscription model is dependent on an institutions size and student numbers. Membership of the consortium is at the discretion of the existing NoWAL members and the NoWAL Board. Acceptance for membership will be managed by a fair ballot process. The eligibility criteria for membership are as follows:

Members must:

  • be a Higher Education Institution funded by HEFCE, or have degree awarding powers
  • have a main base in the North West of England
  • provide access to services in support of teaching, learning and research
  • agree to participate in collaborative activities in procurement, training & development and as part of the Critical Friends’ initiative

There are 14 member institutions, a representative of each institution sits on the NoWAL Board. The members are listed below along with the names and titles of the Board members:

Institution Board Member Title
Edge Hill University Maria Mirza Dean of Learning Services
Lancaster University Andrew Barker Director of Library Services & Learning Development
Liverpool Hope University Susan Murray Director of Library and Learning Services
Liverpool John Moores University Val Stevenson Head of Academic Services (Library Services)
Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine Sarah Lewis Newton Deputising for Head of Information Services
Manchester Metropolitan University Paul Everitt Deputy University Librarian
Royal Northern College of Music Sarah D'Ardenne Head of Library Services
University of Bolton Trevor Hodgson Library Manager
University of Central Lancashire Julie Hitchen Faculty Librarian
University of Chester Claire Norton University Librarian
University of Cumbria James Stephens Director of Information Services / University Librarian
University of Liverpool    
University of Manchester Sandra Bracegirdle Associate Director: Collection Strategies
University of Salford David Clay University Librarian